The Peña Vitoriana pays tribute to the tennis player from Guipuzcoa as the Araba World Tennis Tour reaches the round of 16 in singles with Mintegi herself and the quarterfinals in doubles.


The Wimbledon Junior champion, Ane Mintegi, received a tribute from the Peña Vitoriana Tenis Club, after the Araba World Tennis Tour round of 32 match that the young tennis player from Guipuzcoa won against the Turkish Pemra Ozgen in three sets (3-6,6-3,6-3). The president of the entity, Iñigo Area, dedicated some affectionate words to her after her triumph on the grass of London and wished her to continue being the same as she has been so many times on the courts of Vitoria. In addition to the presentation of a bronze Celedon, emblem of the city of Vitoria-Gasteiz, an aurresku of honor put the most exciting point. Afterwards, the words of Mintegi herself, who could not hold back her tears as she remembered her family “whom I miss so much since I left for Barcelona at the age of 14”. Grateful and close, Mintegi thanked the warmth of the public who came to the center court to see her tennis and corroborate that she is a player of present and future. For the moment, she is still in competition and is already in the round of 16 in singles and in the quarterfinals in her doubles competition, paired with her friend Victoria Jimenez.


The round of 16 will be played on Thursday. Interesting duels that we will be able to see in the courts of Alava from 11 in the morning.

Individual / Round of 16

11:00 am MAI Hontana (JPN) – Alba CARRILLO (ESP)

11:00 h Lesley PATTINAMA (NED) – Olivia GRAM (DEN)

Not before 13:00 h Sofia MILATOVA (SVK) . Ane MINTEGI (ESP)

No earlier than 12:30 Rebeca MASAROVA (ESP) – Angel FITA (ESP)

No earlier than 12:30 Victoria Jimenez (ESP) – Veronica CEPEDE (Paraguay)

Not before 15:00 Laetitia PULCHARTOVA (CZE) – Jessica PONCHET (France)

Not before 15:00 Anastasia PULIKOVA (FIN) – Noel MALLAURIE (FRA)

Not before 18:00 Estela Perez-Somarriba (ESP) – Maria Gutierrez (ESP)




Doubles / Quarterfinals

11:00 Na-Lae HAN (KOR)/ Akiko OMAE (JPN) – Mercedes ARISTEGUI/ Isabel PASCUAL (ESP)

Not before 16:30 Alba CARRILLO/ Ángela FITA (ESP) – Haruna ARAKAWA/Mana AYUKAWA (JPN)

Not before 17:00 Maria Garcia (ESP)/Vasanti SHINDE (IND) – Olivia GADECKI (AUS)/ Rebeca MASAROVA (ESP)

No earlier than 18:00 Celia CERVIÑO (ESP)/ Olivia NICHOLS (GBR) – Ane MINTEGI-Victoria JIMÉNEZ




No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *